An instrument of the Lord

Joshua 1:8-9

This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therin day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success. Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee withersoever thou goest.

This passage commands us to do ALL that is written in God’s word and to write it on our hearts so that it may be with us everywhere.  Israel had a book (referenced in verse 8 here as the law). This book was only a fraction of what we have now in the Bible but it was very important. As God called Joshua to keep close to the words of that book, He calls us to keep close to His word in the Bible.

(Halley’s Bible Handbook)

An instrument of the Lord. That is what we are. If I were to give any instrument to a “perfectly seasoned” musician we would expect the music to be melodious and beautiful. I can, with certainty, call our God “perfectly seasoned”. His experience is endless, his mistakes nonexistent. However, the reality is that if His instrument, you and I, is not well maintained and in tune, the abilities of its artist will always be dwarfed.

I have often been inspired in the past when people say that the Holy Spirit spoke through them words and knowledge that was beyond their own human capacity. If I am to be completely honest, I have thought to myself that it is wonderful that the Holy Spirit will intercede on our behalf in those moments because I sure can’t remember the scripture on my own! As I reflect on those thoughts now, I realize that I was using this promise to make excuses for my motivation, or lack thereof, to memorize scripture.

What an incredible gift we’ve been given to be the instrument of God! I played clarinet for many years, and I have not played for many more since that time. If I take my instrument out today I will find corks that have dried and rotted, keys that have rusted and pads that no longer seal – I can assure you that even if I were still a seasoned player, my music would be far from melodious! Just as my instrument needs to be maintained and tuned, so does my heart. I have to believe the more scripture I store there, the more in tune I will be with my Lord.

May I never again use the Lord’s grace as an excuse not to hide God’s word in my heart.

Leave a Reply

