“Do you have a hooter hider?”

This question was met with laughter…much laughter. While she had never heard the term, she had a pretty good idea I was referencing a nursing cover. The Hooter Hider aka Bebe au Lait was one of the best gifts I received with our latest addition and because the pattern was so simple, I decided to give it a whirl as a gift.

nursingcover.jpg

Having used mine for many months now, I knew there were a couple features that I would change. The first of those was to add weights to the corners of the fabric so that at the first sign of a breeze, I wasn’t flashing everyone in sight.

nursingcovercorner.jpg

I also added a liner to the nursing cover because the fabric was rather sheer and the liner contributed to privacy, weight and cleaner lines. It reminded me of a giant pillow case after it was sewn up. I wanted a pocket that would be more easily accessible and a bit larger than the triangular corner pocket on the original so I fastened this one to the top. I will await feedback from the momma recipient as to how convenient it is in that location.

nursingcoverback.jpg

 

 

I loved the feature on the original that allowed visibility of baby through the top due to an added strip of stiffness in the hem. I reduced the size of the rings because it tended to scrunch of the fabric when I loosened and tightened the original. I am hoping there will be less room to do so with the smaller rings.

nursingcoverneckstrap.jpg

 

I really like the way it turned out and I will certainly be making more in the future for friends and family who intend to nurse their little bambinos.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rachel said,

    Hi,
    I was wondering what you used to support the fabric around the neck so you could see your baby. I am in the process of making one and can’t figure it out since I do not have one personally…. and the ladies who work at JoAnn’s don’t know what I am talking about, they have never seen them or heard of their greatness 🙂 Thanks.
    Rachel Jensen

    PS. Cute website, you seem like a fun and crafty gal!

  2. 2

    Melissa said,

    Hello,

    I too was wondering if you could give more description and direction about the boning neckline. My grandmother is making a couple for me, but is stumped on how to do or what material to use for the stiff/stand out neckline. Could you please advise.

    Thanks so much for you help!
    Melissa

  3. 3

    I wish I could remember the name of the product I bought but I did purchase it at Joanne’s. It was actually near the clothing fabric with the items used for boning and structure support of clothing design. It is the same thing you might put in a strapless dress around the band so it would be stiffer. Does that make sense?

    Thanks so much for stopping by and let me know if that helps. I will make sure to check on the name of the product next time I stop by the craft store.

  4. 4

    sonja said,

    I guess a lot of us want to know the type of boning, size, weight and etc. that goes into the neck. Love your website.
    thanks, Sonja

  5. 5

    sally said,

    I know moms like to be able to check on their babies while feeding, so the boning is very popular. But I was wondering about the privacy issue. The whole idea of the nursing cover is to provide privacy, hide your baby and your…, you know, but with the top always open, don’t you worry if someone walk by behind you can also get a quick and easy peek? So, I don’t use that in the covers I made for my girlfriends. But I really like the adding weights to corners idea. Very smart!
    Oh, hope this can help. I found this tutorial online a while ago, and it shows how to sew the boning in, but didn’t mention the size or weight of it. http://imustnotthinkbadthoughts.wordpress.com/2007/10/01/here-have-a-hooty/
    This is fun and easy to make, and is a wonderful baby gift.
    sally

  6. 6

    Star said,

    According to a free pattern I found @ blisstree.com that I’m about to follow, you can use Corset Boning, whatever that means.

    Great idea about the weights btw! Yours turned out great! I was going to make mine reversible so it will look like yours since you added a lining but I can change it up too.

  7. 7

    Jo Anne said,

    I made my first nursing cover up last night. We took the chains that you make necklace out of and instead of usiing the material around the neck, made it look like a necklace, it latches on the corner of the boning part with a necklace latch. Hoping it works. I can hardly wait to make more and get more and more creative. I don’t think the boning is going to cause a spying issue, because you can still cover up a bit, just open up as you would in a blanket.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

