Reinventing the dress: recycling clothes

In addition to my other current projects, I am recycling a dress of mine to appear in a family photo sitting (FINALLY, Mom!). It is being transformed into three skirts for the girls and a top for myself. My vision is that each of the skirts will also have a colored crochet embellishment – perhaps unique crocheted flowers.

bwskirtsmall.jpg

The itty-bitty-baby-sized skirt will be decorated with some frilly lace and cheery yellow flowers.

bwskirtmed.jpg

The medium-sized skirt has a longer hem and it will be growing some in-your-face red flowers.

bwlargeskirt.jpg

The largest-sized skirt (thinking Goldilocks and the Three Bears yet?) will be adorned with some head-in-the-clouds blue flowers. The flower color choices are meant to be a reflection of the girls’ personalities which is a part I really love about designing, or rather, redesigning clothing.

bwtop.jpg

I’ve pinned a knit waistbandish element to my top and I LOVE the contrast it adds to the lighter fabric. Also, because I am long-waisted, it really benefits my shape – practical and oh-so-cute – gotta love that!

lace.jpg

I’ll leave you with a glimpse of some of the beautiful lace I was given last week. These are amazing treasures and I am so excited to use them! Thank you so much for unloading them on me grandma!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    jade said,

    PLEASE HELP,
    i have just went too 6th form and every one else has such a different style and its really unique. i love art and thats wot i want to spechileise in when am older. but i really do think that my wordrobe lacks my personily, so plz could i just hav tips of what i should do, use, or eveny were to start.
    i would be very thankfull,

    jade
    x

  2. 2

    […] geri dönmüş 1 Yine bir geri dönüşüm çalışması burada […]

  3. 3

    Generally I do not read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do so!
    Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, quite
    nice post.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

