The making of an art kit, journal, and polymer clay transfers

dadsartkitinside.jpg

This month we celebrated hubby/daddy’s birthday and it took me FOREVER to finish his birthday present, but here it is in all its glory! It is a field kit to carry his artist materials. The front is the coolest part, in my opinion. I took our five-year-old’s rendition of dad and embroidered her original drawing onto the fabric. It was a lot of fun!

I simply made a photocopy of her original drawing and then placed the copy on top of the fabric where I wanted it displayed. I then placed the embroidery hoop over the paper and the fabric and proceeded to embroider the pattern. In the end, I simply tore the paper away from the stitches and “voila”! I intentionally angled the picture because I think it added great character. The orange button was a must because it is his favorite color.

dadsartkitinside1.jpg

The kit unbottons and folds open to a snap flap, that when opened reveals a three-panel-pocket for his art pencils, homemade art journal and art supplies tin. the journal was a lot of fun to make. I learned about gutting, binding, painting and decorating a journal. It was bound in coptic stitch and the round, white, photo you see is actually a photo transfer onto polymer clay. That worked SO well! I know I will be using that technique on future projects.

dadsjournalinside.jpg

I will be adding links to some of these techniques soon so please remind me if you are interested and I haven’t yet.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Love it and the embroidery gives it such a fun twist. Can’t wait to read more about the techniques.

  2. 2

    Maximus said,

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic

  3. 3

    Lauren said,

    You share interesting things here. I think that your website can go
    viral easily, but you must give it initial boost
    and i know how to do it, just type in google (with quotes) for – “mundillo traffic increase make your website go viral”

  4. 4

    weight loss said,

    Great posts you post here, i have shared this post
    on my twitter


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

